JCI Info


As we celebrate the 50th Anniversary of the JCI Senate, it seems fitting to pay tribute to one of our leaders, Philip T. R. Pugsley, who was instrumental in the formation of the Senate program.

Born in Montreal, Canada, Philip T. R. Pugsley had a long association with the Jaycee movement at the local, national and international level. In 1951, at the VI JCI World Congress in Montreal, Canada, he was elected president of the international organization.

Pugsley did much to support the global growth and development of Junior Chamber International and provide members lasting means to repay the organization for all it has given them. During his travels as President, Pugsley investigated why chapters were awarding trophies and trinkets to commemorate outstanding service of members. He believed the funds could be better utilized to support expansion of the Junior Chamber movement.

Pugsley conceived the idea of the Senatorship as a distinct honor by which to recognize achievements of outstanding members, while also enabling them to retain contact with the organization for life. Through his efforts, the JCI Senate was formed in 1952 at the 7th JCI World Congress in Melbourne, Australia.

The JCI Senate Foundation was established in 1979 to provide long-term financial support for JCI. Its name was later changed to Jaycees International (JCI) Foundation, Inc., to appeal to the broadest possible donor base. The principal is invested to generate interests, which are used to support JCI programs, activities and expansion around the world. Only the interests are used; the principal remains intact.

Contributions to both the JCI Senate program and the Foundation have significantly assisted JCI’s growth and development over the years. They have also funded training schools and courses, strengthened existing NOMs, and extended the organization into new countries and to more young people around the world.


During the Melbourne Congress, the first JCI Senatorship was awarded posthumously to Joaquin V. Gonzalez from the Philippines. JCI’s first voluntary secretary general Joaquin V. Gonzalez was killed in a plane crash while en route from a national convention. Senatorship number two was awarded to Phil Pugsley, and number three to John Armbruster, who was a charter member of the first Junior Chamber organization.

The first 50 individuals who became JCI Senators were:

1 Joaquin V. Gonzalez (Philippines)
2 Phillip Pugsley (Montreal, Canada)
3 John Armbruster (Missouri, USA)
4 Maurice Sanditen (Oklahoma, USA)
5 George M. C. Master (P.Q., Canada)
6 Ed Roberts (Montreal, Canada)
7 Archie H. Cater (B.C., Canada)
8 John Campbell Mclean (B.C., Canada)
9 G. Mort Ferguson (B.C., Canada)
10 Glen F. McMaster (B.C., Canada)
11 Harold G. D. Lee (B.C., Canada)
12 Willian J. Hulbig (Quebec, Canada)
13 Milton J. Smith ( Massachusetts, USA )
14 Frank A. Stolfi (Connecticut, USA)
15 Gerald A. Lindsay (New York, USA)
16 Ruben C. Hernandez (Philippines)
17 Carlos Palanca. JR (Manila, Philippines)
18 Washington Sycip (Manila, Philippines)
19 Eugenio J. Puyat (Manila, Philippines)
20 Gaudencio B.Lontok (Philippines)
21 Graciano Borja (Philippines)
22 T. Stewart Anderson( Ontario, Canada)
23 Myron H. Milder ( Nebraska, USA)
24 James W. Clemons ( Wisconsin, USA)
25 Mark V. Marlowe ( Kentucky, USA)
26 Ramon Del Rosario (Philippines)
27 P.E. Domingo (Manila,Philippines)
28 Alberto M. Meer (Manila, Philippines)
29 Lauro G. Marquez (Manila, Philippines)
30 Luis Maria Araneta (Philippines)
31 Juan S. Limjuco (Manila, Philippines)
32 Hubert H. Harvey (Australia)
33 Raymond R. Lawson (Australia)
34 Frank B. King (Australia)
35 Ted Kyle ( Ontario Canada)
36 Raymond Daoust (Montreal Canada)
37 Ross Smyth ( Quebec Canada)
38 Ivan Sparks ( Ontario Canada)
39 George M. Henderson (Mont., Canada)
40 A.J. Beane (Illinois, USA)
41 Roberto Villanueva (Philippines)
42 Vicente B. Fernandez (Rizal, Philippines)
43 Sidney Boxer (New York, USA)
44 Don Aylett (England)
45 Arturo Samayoa Roldan (Guatemala)
46 John Stewert (Australia)
47 Talbot Frederick Beckwith (Australia)
48 Geoff W. Kimber (Australia)
49 Jack D. Edwards (Vic., Australia)
50 Len V. Carroll (Australia)


For Thy bountiful provision of this food,
For the gift of human personality,
For the brotherhood of all men in Thee,
And the opportunity of a selfless Service,
.....We thank Thee O Lord.